Through the « village coutelier », Coutellia offers animations during the weekend. You will discover an exhibition of former knives, demonstrations of forge, the possibility of creating your own knife, the presentation of sharpening, the initiation to the forge and many other activities will be offered to the public.

2022 Edition

rasophiles

BARBER

Les Rasophiles

« Les Rasophiles » are collectors, researchers of the history of shaving and its manufacturers. Each year they present razors and miniature razors and also offer old-fashioned shaving with a straight razor.

EXHIBITION

The Old Blades

The « vieilles lames » association presents numerous tools and machines used before the electricity, with the vision of gestures and process of knife manufacturing and provides demonstration on knife assembly, polishing and sharpening.

FORGE INITIATION

Brotherhood LE THIERS® knife

Since 2019, you can now introduce you to this ancestral art. With instructions of the “confrérie du couteau LE THIERS®”, you will have the unique opportunity to forge your own knife blade. During 1h30, with a teacher, you will discover the delicate management of the fire and to apprehend the technical specifications.

CORKSCREW MANUFACTURING

Corkscrew Brotherhood

The corkscrew is at the same time simple object by its creation of bold forms but also enhanced by the implementation of new materials by mixing sculpture, engraving, forging or other know-how. An animation led by the « Confrérie du Tire-Bouchon. »

CUTTING AND CULINARY ARTS

In partnership with the magazine Le Petit Gourmet, you will find a culinary space where cutting shows, recipes and tastings will be on the programme.

KNIFE ASSEMBLY

Brotherhood LE THIERS® knife

« La confrérie du couteau » offers you during the weekend the creation of your personalized Thiers. Equipped with a protected apron and guided by an animator, you will realize a unique piece.

SHARPENING AND EXTENSION OF METALS

Apprentice training centre of Thiers

On a dedicated stand, the « fédération française de coutellerie » will offer lectures led by culters and industrialists from the region of Thiers.

CUTLER APPRENTICES PRÉSENTATION

Apprentice training centre of Thiers

The Auvergne training course hub brings the cutlery school to the center of Thiers through 2 structures :

  • the CFAI trains apprentices to the CAP diploma “cutlery” since 1992
  • the AFPI insures individual training process for employees, job seekers, parivate individual,…

OLD KNIVES EXHIBITION

Find an entire exhibition dedicated to the presentation and resale of old knives. Come and admire these pieces in the heart of the « village coutelier ».

Previous editions

FORGE DEMONSTRATION

Brotherhood LE THIERS® knife

Organised by « la confrérie du couteau LE THIERS® », forge demonstrations are held outdoors during the weekend. At the rhythm of the hammers hitting the anvil, you will discover the technical specifications behind a beautiful blade as well as the know-how of the blacksmith.

CUTTING COMPETITION

Knifenet

Knifenet is an association of apprentice cutlers with the desire to create links between apprentices from different regions of the world. This year 8 candidates compete to cut a maximum of objects in a minimum of shots!

SCRIMSHAW AND ENGRAVING DEMONSTRATION

Stand dedicated to the demonstration of  engraving and scrimshaw where culters succeed each other on the stand in order to show their skills and offer a beautiful show to the public.

GOLD THREAD EMBROIDERY DEMONSTRATION

Association Les Grenadières du Haut-Forez

The « Grenadières du Haut-Forez » association will present you the art of emboiderer in golden thread. A legacy of nearly two centuries of know-how that begun in the heart of Thiers country.

CULTERY CAPITAL / GUEST HONNOR

Albacete is a cutlery region in Spain. In 2019, COUTELLIA decided to honour the expertise of this Spanish city by dedicating a stand to it. A collection of trades, crafts or industrial, complementary or related to the knife activity.

-->

A travers le village coutelier, Coutellia propose des animations tout au long du week-end. Ainsi, vous pourrez découvrir une exposition de couteaux anciens, des démonstrations de forge, la possibilité de monter votre propre couteau, la présentation de l’affûtage, l’initiation à la forge et bien d’autres activités seront proposées au public.

Édition 2022

Espace barbier

Les Rasophiles

Les Rasophiles sont des collectionneurs, chercheurs de l’histoire du rasage et de ses fabricants. Chaque année ils présentent des rasoirs de vitrine et des rasoirs miniatures et proposent aussi rasage à l’ancienne au rasoir droit, démonstration d’affilage sur pierre ou cuir.

Exposition

Les vieilles lames

Les vieilles lames présentent de nombreux outils et machines utilisés avant l’avènement de l’électricité, avec visualisation des gestes et des processus de fabrication de couteaux et assurent la démonstration de montage, polissage-affûtage avec des possibilités d’atelier participatifs (montages simples).

Initiation à la forge

la Confrérie du Couteau LE THIERS®

Depuis 2019, vous pouvez désormais vous initier à cet art ancestral. Sous la houlette de la Confrérie du couteau LE THIERS®, vous aurez l’opportunité unique de forger votre propre lame de couteau. Durant 1h30, avec un professeur, vous aurez à coeur de découvrir la délicate gestion du feu et d’appréhender les gestes techniques.

Démo de fabrication de tire bouchon

La confrérie du tire-bouchon

Le tire-bouchon est à la fois simple objet par sa création de formes audacieuses mais aussi sublimé par la mise en œuvre de nouvelles matières en mêlant sculpture, gravure, forgeage ou autres savoir-faire. Une animation dirigée par la Confrérie du Tire-Bouchon.

Découpe et art culinaire 

En partenariat avec le magazine Le Petit Gourmet, vous retrouverez un espace culinaire où démonstration de découpes, réalisation de recettes et dégustations seront au programme.

Montage de couteau

la Confrérie du Couteau LE THIERS®

La confrérie vous propose tout au long du weekend le montage de votre Thiers personnalisé. Équipé d’un tablier de protection et guidés par un animateur, vous réaliserez une pièce unique en un tour de main.

AFFÛTAGE ET VULGARISATION DES MÉTAUX

centre de formation et d’apprentissage de thiers

Sur un espace dédié, la Fédération Française de la Coutellerie proposera des conférences animées par des couteliers et des industriels du bassin thiernois.

Présentation des apprentis couteliers

Centre de formation et d’apprentissage de thiers

Le Pôle Formation Auvergne porte l’Ecole de la Coutellerie dans son centre de Thiers au travers de 2 structures :
– le CFAI forme les apprentis au CAP « coutellerie » depuis 1992
– l’AFPI assure des parcours de formation individualisée pour les salariés, les personnes en recherche d’emploi, les particuliers …

Espace de couteaux anciens

Retrouvez un pavillon entièrement dédié à l’exposition et à la revente couteaux anciens. Venez admirer ces pièces de collection dans un hall dédié, au coeur du Village Coutelier. Daille du XVIe siècle, couteaux plats, fermants des
XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles ou encore couteaux de vénerie et de chasse.

Éditions précédentes

Démonstration de forge

la Confrérie du Couteau LE THIERS®

L’animation phare de Coutellia ! Orchestrées par la Confrérie du Couteau LE THIERS®, les démonstrations de forge se déroulent en extérieur tout au long du week-end. Au rythme des coups de marteau sur l’enclume, vous découvrirez les gestes techniques qui se cachent derrière une belle lame ainsi que le savoir-faire du forgeron.

Concours de coupe

Knifenet

Knifenet est une association d’ apprentis couteliers dont le but est de créer des liens entre apprentis de différentes régions du monde. Cette année 8 candidats s’affrontent pour couper un maximum d’objets en un minimum de coups !

Démo gravure et scrimshaw

Espace dédié à la démonstration de gravure et scrimshaw où des couteliers se succèdent sur le stand afin de faire montre de leur expertise et offrir un beau spectacle au public.

Démo de broderie au fil d’or

L’association Les Grenadières du Haut-Forez

L’association Les Grenadières du Haut-Forez présentera le métier d’art de brodeuse au fil d’or. Un héritage de près de deux siècles de savoir-faire qui a trouvé naissance au coeur du pays thiernois.

Capitale de la coutellerie – invité d’honneur

Albacete

En 2019, COUTELLIA a décidé de rendre hommage à l’expertise de cette ville d’Espagne en lui réservant un stand. Une collection de voyage, artisanale ou industrielle, en complémentarité à l’activité de la coutellerie.

-->